Is Corona Gluten Free?

Is Corona gluten free? The answer is no corona is not gluten free.

But it is not as simple as that, you see there is a controversy as to whether that statement is accurate. You see Corona and its little brother Coronita are both brewed using barley and barley contains gluten so clearly, corona can not be gluten free, however, there are many reports that indicate testings that show it has less than 20 ppm gluten. Which is the standard set by the FDA to determine if a good can be considered gluten free.

Is Corona Gluten Free Controversy 
A bottle of corona sitting on a picnic table at the beach with the words is corona gluten free written to it's left.
  • Save

To begin with, Corona themselves indicate that their beer contains traces of gluten and they recommend that you contact your doctor to discuss consuming it. They also indicate that they can not provide an accurate determination on how much gluten it contains. You can read this for yourself here.

That statement on their website is obviously very concerning for people who have celiacs disease, or who have a sensitivity or intolerance to gluten.

However to confuse things further and to add to the controversy the FDA on their site states that any food that labels itself as gluten-free or reduced must contain less than 20 parts per million (PPM) of gluten. Which gives the impression that any food item that does contain less than that is safe for people with gluten issues.

The problem arises in the gluten tests themselves. There are many people who question their accuracy. However, there are many people who believe them to be very accurate, and most tests you will find online indicate that Corona is gluten-free as it tests at 20 ppm and less.

To compound the matter there are many people with gluten issues who drink Corona Beer and report having no problems.

In the end, if you have concerns we believe that the advice provided by Corona themselves is the best course of action, discuss it with your physician before drinking it. Better safe than sorry.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much gluten is in Corona Extra?

Corona themselves will not release this information, however, there are many sources that report it meets the FDA’s requirement to be at 20 ppm or less. You can also order a testing kit for yourself and take your own reading to confirm.

Is Corona safe for celiacs?

There are many people with celiacs that drink Corona and report no problems, however again it is recommended that you discuss this with your physician.

What lager is gluten-free?

There are now lots of lagers that are gluten free on the market and more and more coming all the time. Many people would recommend that people with gluten issues try them instead of taking the chance with beers like Corona that have gluten in them. ranks different beers and they have ranked a beer called Redbridge Lager out of Missouri as the best gluten-free lager on the market. It is a 3.2% Alcohol by Volume beer and is actually brewed by Anheuser-Busch.

Big Robbs Final Word

As far as the FDA is concerned it appears as if corona would be considered gluten-free. However, it does contain some gluten as it is brewed with barley so, in reality, corona is not gluten free. However, I can tell you that as a brewer there are products that can be added to beer that reduce gluten levels and I know many people with sensitivities that drink those beers with no problem. So, in the end, the choice as to whether you should drink it is your own.

Cheers, Big Robb is Out!

Big Robb with a pint of home brewed beer
  • Save
P.S. If you make beer or want to start, I recommend that you take advantage of my offer to get the recipes for my top 5 best-selling beers from my brewpub. If you add a product called clarity ferm to them they will fall under the FDA’s definition of being gluten-free. Details on the side of the blog or at the bottom if on your smart device. Enjoy!

Leave a Comment

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap