Is Heineken Gluten Free?

If you’re looking for a gluten-free beer option, Heineken might be a good choice for you. Although Heineken is made with barley and does contain gluten, reports are that it tests for very low amounts of gluten. Having said this it is not certified as gluten-free and should instead be considered gluten-reduced. Here is why….

Is Heineken Gluten Free?

Heineken is one of the most popular beers on the market, but is Heineken gluten free? The answer is no, Heineken is not gluten-free. This is because one of its main ingredients is barley which does contain gluten. Therefore, people who are sensitive to gluten could experience issues when drinking it.

However, when it comes to the amount of gluten it contains in a serving, it is reported to be quite low. The FDA indicates that any beer with under 20 ppm can be considered gluten-free and Heineken would appear to meet this criterion.

For those with gluten concerns, it is important to note that Heineken is not certified gluten-free by the FDA and is also produced in a facility where other products containing gluten may also be present resulting in a cross-contamination risk. As such, those with severe gluten sensitivities should exercise caution when drinking Heineken. Nevertheless, for most people, Heineken tastes great and is a safe beer to drink.

FDA Gluten-Free Guidelines

The FDA has set standards for determining what is considered gluten-free. Gluten-free products must contain less than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten, which is an amount that is not supposed to cause a health risk to individuals who are intolerant or allergic to it.

This regulation applies to any food product labeled as “gluten-free,” “no gluten,” “free of gluten” or “without gluten.” The FDA also requires products to be labeled as “wheat-free,” and limits the use of oats in products labeled as “gluten-free” to those that are specially produced, processed, and labeled to be gluten-free.

How Many PPM of Gluten is in Heineken?

Heineken is brewed with a combination of malted barley, hops, and yeast. Although there is no gluten in hops or yeast, there is in barley and as a result, most beer does contain gluten, however, when it comes to Heineken all of the tests we have studied indicate that it contains less than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten, with tests results ranging from 5 – 20 ppm and most indications are that it is closer to 5 ppm which is a very low level and suitable for those who follow a gluten-free diet.

According to the US Food and Drug Administration’s labeling laws, any food that contains less than 20 ppm of gluten can be labeled as “gluten-free”. However, where it does contain some gluten, in our opinion it should be classified as gluten-reduced instead.

Details on Heineken Beer

Heineken is considered to be a pale lager beer brewed by the Dutch company Heineken International. It is one of the world’s top three best-selling beers and has been since 1971. 

a pint of heineken on a table next to the workds is heineken gluten free.
  • Save

Originally brewed in 1873 by Gerard Heineken and now available in over 192 countries worldwide. It is characterized by its light golden color and mildly bitter flavor. It stands out for its distinctive green bottle, crowned with a red star.

It is made from quality ingredients that are carefully blended to create its refreshing flavor. Heineken is 5% ABV, which means it has a medium alcohol content. It has a light taste and low bitterness with subtle malty and hoppy aromas.

Heineken Ingredients & Nutritional Information

Heineken, like all beers, contains four main ingredients: water, barley, hops, and yeast. The nutritional facts of Heineken beer can vary depending on the country where it is brewed.

Generally, it contains around 150 calories per bottle and 0 grams of fat. It also contains 11-13 grams of carbohydrates and 1-2 grams of protein. Heineken has a relatively low alcohol content with an ABV of 5%.

Last Call

Although according to the FDA guidelines Heineken would be considered gluten free caution should still be taken with those with severe gluten allergies as it is brewed with barley and does contain small traces of gluten. If you’re unsure whether or not Heineken is right for you, consult your doctor before making a decision. Otherwise, enjoy this popular Dutch beer!

P.S. Do you make your own beer? If so, get your gift of Big Robb’s top 5 favorite beer recipes from his brewpub. Details are on the side of the blog or at the bottom if you are on your phone. Cheers!

Leave a Comment

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap