Is Heineken Vegan?

The answer to the question of “is Heineken vegan” is yes Heineken is a vegan-friendly beer.  It is made from water, barley, yeast, and hops. The barley is kilned, which gives the beer its color. Hops are then added for bitterness, flavor, and aroma. Yeast is added at the start of the fermentation process and is what converts the sugars in the beer into alcohol. 

A heineken in a bottle on a bar next to the words is heineken vegan.
  • Save

All of Heineken’s ingredients are vegan-friendly and unlike many other beers, animal products are not used in the clarifying or filtering process.

What is Heineken?

Heineken is a type of pilsner that comes from the Netherlands. It is one of the most popular and best-selling beers in the world, known for its green bottle and red star logo.

It is also one of the only commercial beers that is dry-hopped during fermentation, which adds to Heineken’s unique flavor.

What’s in Heineken?

Like all beer Heineken is made from 4 main ingredients i.e. Water, barley, yeast, and hops. However, it is reported that there are some additional ingredients used in smaller quantities all of which are vegan-friendly, including wheat malt syrup, modified starch, sucrose syrup, koji tin flakes (made from rice), magnesium sulfate, sodium chloride, calcium carbonate, enzymes, and hop extract.

Last Call

If you’re a vegan who loves beer, you can rest assured that Heineken is vegan and that none of its ingredients contain any animal products. Enjoy & Cheers!

P.S. If you brew your own beer or want to start, be sure to pick up your gift of Big Robb’s top 5 favorite beer recipes from his brewpub. Details are on the side of the blog or at the bottom if you are on your phone. 

Leave a Comment

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap