Is Miller Lite Gluten Free?

Miller Lite, the refreshing light beer produced by MolsonCoors previously MillerCoors, is a popular choice for those looking to enjoy a lite beer without consuming too many calories and alcohol. But what about people who follow a gluten-free diet? Is Miller Lite gluten free?

Is Miller Lite Gluten Free?

The answer is no Miller lite is not gluten free. This is because it is made from barley which contains gluten. Having said that, there are reports of independent tests showing that it could contain a low enough amount of gluten to be considered gluten-free under the FDA guidelines. The FDA advises that any food product that contains under 20 ppm is gluten-free including beer. In our opinion products that are under 20 ppm but still contain some gluten should instead be labeled as gluten-reduced.

What is Miller Lite?

First brewed in 1975 by the Miller Brewing Company it is one of the best-selling most popular brands of light beer on the market today.

It is known as a light beer with a light golden color and a crisp, refreshing taste having an alcohol content of 4.2 % and having only 96 calories per 12-ounce serving. Its signature flavor comes from the use of both two-row and six-row pale malt. It also undergoes a triple decoction process, which involves boiling the grains at different temperatures in order to extract more flavor from them. It is hopped by adding hop pellets or plugs during the brewing process, as well as during fermentation it is dry hopped with a blend of American hops.

How Much Gluten is in Miller Lite?

The reports on how much gluten is in Miller lite are conflicting, we rely on independently performed tests when reporting on this matter. One of the sites we rely on indicated that the level of gluten was so low that it did not register any ppm of gluten, whereas the other site we rely on indicated that their test results showed over 20 ppm. In our opinion the first test is likely more accurate than the latter, we say this as most American lite beers do follow under the 20 ppm mark of gluten, however, we have no way of verifying this at this time. 

A can of miller lite next to the words is miller lite gluten free.
  • Save

It is also important to note that even though one beer from a brand of beer tests for low levels of gluten it is still possible for trace amounts of gluten to be present in a different can or bottle of the same beer, this is because many beers like Miller Lite can be brewed in facilities that also make other beers that could contain ingredients that have gluten, as such there may be a risk of cross-contamination happening.

If you do decide to drink Miller Lite, there are some steps you can take to help minimize your risk of consuming gluten such as drinking only from fresh, unopened cans or bottles of Miller Lite and avoiding beer packaged in bulk containers such as kegs.

As always if you experience any symptoms after consuming Miller Lite (such as bloating, fatigue, and abdominal pain), it’s best to stop drinking it and consult a doctor for further advice. If you have concerns before trying Miller Lite it is always best to consult with your doctor in advance.

Miller Lite Ingredients & Nutritional Facts

Miller Lite is made using a combination of barley malt, non-malted cereal grains, yeast, water, and hops which are gluten-free; it is also free from any artificial colors or flavors. The problem for people with gluten intolerance or celiac disease is that barley and cereal grains contain gluten.

Nutritional wise it contains only 96 calories and 3.2 grams of carbs per 12-ounce serving; it has an alcohol percentage or ABV of only 4.2% alcohol by volume, making it one of the lightest beers available on the market today.

Full details on Miller Lite’s nutritional information can be found on their website

Last Call

So, is miller lite gluten-free? The answer to that question is no miller lite is not gluten-free for the simple fact that it is brewed with barley which contains gluten. However, there are reports that it does have less than 20 ppm of gluten and as such may be a safe option for those with gluten intolerance or celiac disease. However, it is important to remember that everyone reacts differently to gluten, so if you are unsure whether or not miller lite is right for you, consult your doctor before drinking it.

P.S. If you want to make your own beer there are ways to make it gluten-reduced, adding an enzyme called clarity ferm is one such method. To get started we recommend that you pick up your gift of Big Robb’s top 5 favorite beer recipes from his brewpub, and add clarity ferm to any of them to make them gluten-reduced.

Leave a Comment

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap