Is Bud Light Gluten-Free?

Is Bud Light gluten-free? The answer is: No it is not.

This is because Bud Light is made with barley which contains gluten. However, as you will see the amount of gluten is reported to be very low and maybe tolerable by people with sensitivities to it. Which may explain why some people believe it to be gluten-free.

Details on Bud Light

Bud Light is reported as the number one selling beer in the United States. Having been brewed since 1982 by Anheuser-Busch who also produces such beers as Budweiser and Michelob Ultra; it has an ABV of 4.2% and is considered a light beer.

It is made using water, hops, yeast, rice, and barley and is considered a refreshing beer with a light body. Taste-wise it has a light sweetness from the malt, as well as a very subtle hop flavor with a crip and dry finish.

Why Bud Light is Not Gluten-Free

Like most beers on the market, it is made using crushed malted barley. After the grain is crushed it is then soaked in warm water which allows the sugars from the grain to be released. These sugars are what contain the gluten. The sugar water is then boiled and hops and yeast are added, the mixture is then allowed to ferment. The yeast and hops are gluten-free, the malt is not.

Wheat is also an ingredient that is commonly used in beer, particularly wheat beers like hefeweizen, and also is very high in gluten. Wheat is not one of the ingredients of Bud Light. 

a can of bud light next to a sign that says gluten free and the heading on the photo reads is bud light gluten free
  • Save

Many people believe that light beer like Bud Light are gluten-free, which is not true. It is made with the same ingredients as regular beer. They are considered light as they have a lower alcohol by volume (ABV) and fewer calories which is accomplished by not using as much malt, a nd in some cases watering the beer down.

As a result, Bud Light does contain less gluten than regular beers. The FDA reports that any beer that contains less than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten can be considered gluten-free. There are reports that Bud Light may contain as little as 5 ppm.

However, if you have celiac disease or have gluten intolerances and are concerned about drinking Bud Light you should check with your doctor first.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Bud Light safe for celiacs?

Due to reports that it contains low amounts of gluten many celiacs say they can and do drink Bud Light. Having said that everyone’s body reacts differently to gluten and just because one person is able to drink it does not mean another person will be able to. This is why we recommend you speak with your doctor first. It should also be noted that there is not an official report out there on the amount of gluten in Bud Light, all reports are from people testing it on their own with kits they have purchased.

Is Bud Light made with wheat?

No Bud Light is not made with wheat.

How much gluten does Bud Light have in it?

There is no official report from Anheuser-Busch, however, it is reported by many people who have done independent tests that it contains less than 20 ppm of gluten which meets the FDA standard to be considered gluten-free.

Final Word

Officially Bud Light is not gluten-free, however, due to the low amount it does contain it very well may be tolerable by people with gluten issues. However, if you are concerned there are now many gluten-free beer options on the market and as their popularity has been rising their quality and taste have been improving and it might be worth exploring them instead.

Cheers, Big Robb is Out!

Big Robb with a pint of home brewed beer
  • Save
P.S. If you make beer or are considering getting started you can easily make gluten-free beers by adding a product called clarity ferm. I am giving away the recipes to my top 5 best-selling beers from my brewpub which can easily be converted to gluten-free. Details are on the side of the blog or at the bottom on your smart device. Enjoy!

Leave a Comment

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap