Is Coors Light Gluten-Free?

Is Coors Light gluten-free? The short answer is no Coors Light is not gluten-free, however, it is low gluten.

In fact, as a result, many people with celiac disease and who have gluten sensitivities or intolerances report being able to drink Coors Light. This is because in comparison to many other beers on the market the reported gluten levels are very low.

The FDA standard to be considered gluten-free is having 20 ppm (parts per million) and under gluten. Although there is not an official report on how much gluten Coors Light contains there are numerous reports from people who have tested its levels themselves using kits they have purchased. Most reports indicate it has 5 – 10 ppm of gluten. Which is well under the FDA standard and why it is tolerated by people with these issues.

However as you will see in this post as a result of the ingredients used to brew it, it can not be considered truly gluten-free and if you have concerns you should be aware of this.

What Type of Beer is Coors Light?

Coors Light is a light lager. It has an alcohol by volume content of 4.2%. It is also lower in calories than a regular lager. Many people drink it for these reasons as they believe it to be a healthier alternative to regular strength beer.

It has a clear almost golden appearance that many people find appealing as it presents itself as being refreshing. Which many claim it is. Taste-wise it is both sweet and a little bitter. It has a fair amount of carbonation with fast-rising bubbles. Aroma comes from the grains with very little from the hops.

Who Makes Coors Light?

It was first brewed in 1978 by the Coors Brewing Company. It is now owned and made by the Molson Coors Beverage Company in both the United States and Canada.

Why Coors Light is Not Gluten-Free

The short answer is that just like regular beer, it is made with yeast & hops which are gluten-free, water, and barley which contains gluten. 

A glass of beer on a table with the words is coors light gluten free written next to it.
  • Save

When making beer brewers take malted barley and crush it in order to get access to its sugars which is the actual malt that when mixed with water and yeast and allowed to ferment makes the beer. The sugars are what contains gluten.

To make a light beer like Coors Light there are a few methods brewers can implement. They can use fewer grains, they can add enzymes during the brewing process or they can water it down.

Because a light beer typically contains fewer ingredients or is watered down they usually do contain less gluten than regular beers and typically meet the FDA standard of being gluten-free. However, a more accurate description would be gluten-reduced and it is important to understand that if you have celiac disease or are gluten sensitive light beer could still make you sick.

Frequently Asked Questions

What Coors beer is gluten-free?

Presently Coors does not make a beer that is gluten-free. They previously brewed one called Coors Peak Copper Lager, but it was discontinued. The closest mainstream commercial brewery to brew a gluten-free beer would be Budweiser, they make a gluten-free beer called Redbridge. There are also numerous smaller craft breweries now coming out with gluten-free options.

Are there any light beers that are gluten-free?

Most of the light beers on the market are typically considered gluten-free. Beers such as Corona, Bud Light, and Heineken are all reported to contain less than 20 ppm of gluten. This does not mean all light beers are and if you have concerns it is important that you check with your doctor before consuming any beer that contains any level of gluten.

What beers are less than 20 ppm gluten?

Most light beers are less than 20 ppm gluten, outside of that you will want to look for beers that indicate they are gluten-free, reduced, or removed.

If you are interested we did a shortlist of gluten-free beers on our post about whether Michelob Ultra is gluten-free.

Final Thoughts

Although it is not accurate to say Coors Light is gluten-free it is certainly gluten-reduced and for most people with sensitivities or intolerances, they can drink it without any problems. However, if you have concerns there are now many breweries making beers that are completely gluten-free which might be a better option for you.

Cheers, Big Robb is Out!

Big Robb with a pint of home brewed beer
  • Save
P.S. If you make beer or would like to start, I am giving away the recipes to my top 5 best-selling beers from my brewpub. Details are on the side of the blog or at the bottom. To make these recipes gluten-free it is as simple as adding an enzyme called clarity ferm to them. Enjoy!

Leave a Comment

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap