Is Budweiser Gluten Free? Unfortunately, the answer is no; Budweiser is not gluten free for the simple reason that it is brewed with barley which does contain gluten, and as a result, it could be unsuitable for people with celiac disease or gluten intolerance to drink it.
We say that it could be unsuitable for people with gluten concerns to drink because even though technically it does contain barely and is not gluten-free, the amount of gluten in Budweiser is reported to actually be quite low, and in fact, it meets the FDA’s guidelines for being gluten-free.
Table of Contents
How Much Gluten is in Budweiser?
The FDA guidelines indicate that any beer (food) containing less than 20 ppm of gluten can be considered a gluten free beer. The good news for those with gluten allergies or sensitivities is that it has been reported that Budweiser actually contains less than 10 parts per million (ppm) of gluten. In fact, there are online independent tests you can review showing that Budweiser has less than 5 ppm of gluten, which according to the FDA makes it suitable for most people on a gluten-free diet.
Even though the FDA deems any food under 20 ppm as gluten-free we are of the opinion that foods including beer that contain any gluten at all, should be considered gluten-reduced and not gluten free. Having said that the small amount of gluten that is in Budweiser should be too low for individuals with celiac disease or gluten sensitivities to react or experience symptoms, however, those with concerns and these conditions may want to consult with their doctor before drinking Budweiser.
However, for most people, Budweiser is a safe choice if you’re looking for a beer without much gluten.
Details on Budweiser
As one of the world’s most popular and best-selling beers Budweiser is an American-style pale lager (pilsner) brewed by Anheuser-Busch InBev since 1876. Initially known in the USA as “The King of Beers” it is sold in more than 80 countries worldwide on six continents, is brewed in 10 breweries around the world, and sells over 100 million hectoliters of beer annually.
It is known for being a beer with a crisp, clean, and refreshing taste, with a slight floral aroma, a light body, high carbonation, and a dry finish.
Budweiser Ingredients & Nutritional Facts
Budweiser like any classic American lager is brewed with grains in this case barley & rice as well as hops, yeast, and water.
As far as nutrition goes, Budweiser is a low-calorie beer with only 6.6 grams of carbohydrates, 0 grams of fat and 1 gram of protein, 139 calories, and 5% alcohol by volume per 12 oz serving.
How is Budweiser Made?
Budweiser is made in the same fashion as any beer. To start with the grains are milled or crushed and then mixed with warm water to form a mash (approximately 150 ℉). This mash is then boiled and hops are added at different time intervals during the mash adding bitterness and giving Budweiser its signature flavor and aroma.
Afterward, it’s filtered, and cooled, the yeast is then pitched (added) and the beer is then allowed to ferment in large tanks called lager tuns. After fermentation is completed the beer is then aged for several weeks to allow the flavor to mature and develop.
The last stage of the brewing process before it is packaged is called lagering, which involves storing the beer in cold temperatures (30 – 40 ℉) for typically 4 – 6 weeks before it’s ready to be bottled or kegged and then served.
Although Budweiser is in reality not gluten free due to the fact that one of its ingredients is barley, it does meet the FDA threshold of being under 20 ppm and can technically be called gluten-free. However, be warned if you have allergies to gluten that there are trace amounts of it in the beer and you may want to consult your MD before drinking it.
P.S. If you brew your own beer or want to start it is simple to make gluten-free beer, to get started pick up your gift of Big Robb’s top 5 favorite beer recipes from his brewpub. Details are on the side of the blog or at the bottom if you are on your phone. Cheers!