Is Corona Vegan?

Corona, the delicious beer of summertime and tropical beach vacations, is one of the best-selling beers worldwide and is enjoyed by many, but is Corona vegan, and can people who follow a vegan or plant-based diet also enjoy it?

Is Corona Vegan?

The short answer is yes Corona is vegan. The longer answer is that Corona is vegan because it is made with water, barley malt, corn, hops, and yeast, all of which are vegan-friendly.

As well unlike some other beers that add flavoring adjuncts such as honey and other animal-derived ingredients, Corona does not. There are no animal byproducts used in the making of this beer and all of its ingredients are plant-derived.

Most beers in their basic form are actually vegan-friendly, where they go wrong is when it comes to the filtering and clearing process. Some beer companies will use animal products such as isinglass (made from fish bladders) or gelatin to help clear their beer. Again Corona does not use any of these sorts of products.

As an added bonus, multiple vegan organizations advised that it meets their strict standards for vegan-friendly products and recommend it as a beer for vegans to drink.

Corona Beer

Corona beer has a long and storied history being first brewed in 1925 by the Mexican beer company, Grupo Modelo. It was designed to have a unique taste to appeal to the public and very quickly became popular among locals. 

a man holding a bottle of corona on a beach next to the words is corona vegan.
  • Save

In 1997, Grupo Modelo was purchased by Anheuser-Busch InBev and is now available in more than 180 countries, Corona is one of the most widely consumed beers in the world and the number one selling imported beer in the USA.

Ingredients in Corona

Corona is brewed with a combination of ingredients that give it its signature taste and help to create its light golden color and dry crisp finish. It contains malted barley, rice, corn, hops, purified water, and yeast. The ingredients are all-natural, making it a refreshingly clean-tasting beer for non-vegans and vegans alike.

In addition to the core ingredients, other vegan-friendly ingredients may be added in small amounts, such as cane sugar, and ascorbic acid (vitamin C), and many people will garnish it with lime.

Last Call

Since Corona is brewed using the typical natural ingredients used to make beer such as barley, rice, corn, yeast, water, and hops, and also does not use any animal products during the filtering process it is safe to say that Corona is vegan friendly. Cheers!

P.S. If you brew your own beer or want to start (it is easy to brew vegan beer) be sure to pick up your gift of Big Robb’s top 5 favorite beer recipes from his brewpub, details are on the side of the blog or at the bottom if you are on your phone. Enjoy!

Leave a Comment

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap